Archaeological Museum, Kondapur (Telangana)
The site Museum at Kondapur (Late.17.33' N 78.1'E) is located on a small hillock about one km south of the village of Kondapur in Sangareddy District, Telangana. The exhibits from this museums are basically retrieved from an ancient mound locally known as Kotagadda (Fort Mound) located at a distance of one km east of the museum.
The site was first explored by the famous Archaeologist Mr Henry Cousens in the early years of the 19th Century. Subsequently, the Department of Archaeology of the erstwhile Hyderabad State under H.E.H. the Nizam of Hyderabad excavated this mound for a couple of seasons from 1940. A small museum was established with the excavated material over the ancient site itself which was later shifted to the present building. The museum came under the administrative control of Archaeological Survey of India in 1952.
The Archaeological Museum, Kondapur houses a rich collection of minor antiquities unearthed from the digs of 1940-1942. The museum has a Central hall and two more galleries in enclosed corridors.
In the main hall a good number of antiquities are displayed in wall showcases representing different facets of material culture of the early historic period such as pottery, terracotta figurines, bone and shell objects, metal objects, talismans, pendants, beads, inscribed pottery and coins etc. brick tiles, sharpening stones, moulded bricks and designed panels.
In the other galleries, prehistoric tools and fossils are exhibited. Apart from these objects, a couple of sculptures, a Buddhapada, a standing image of four-handed Vishnu carved on a door jamb and two inscribed storage jars are other attractive pieces in this gallery.